SLOOP TAVERN YACHT CLUB

Log in


VOLUNTEER SIGNUPS

Volunteering is a great way for new sailors to make friends and learn more about sailing, and a great way for experienced sailors to make friends and give back to the sport. Our races are our biggest need for volunteers, but we also welcome people interested in planning or leading cruises, and helping with our land based membership parties and events. If interested, email us at volunteer@styc.org.

Race Volunteers

We keep an active list of all volunteers for each race below.

  • Event coordinators are typically STYC board members with experience finding volunteers and resources for races.
  • Principle Race Officers run the race. If you have some experience with racing and are interested in becoming a PRO, email us. We will train you.
  • Committee boat owners just need a boat big enough to hold the race committee and the ability to anchor in 50 feet of water (or more, depending on the event.) If you race your boat in Ballard Cup, you get the average of your series score for that race you are committee boat. But you don't need to be a racer to volunteer your boat. You can be a part of the race committee or just enjoy the show.
  • Committee boat crew do not need race or sailing experience, but it's a great way to learn about racing. We will train you, and you have the best seats to the show. Snacks and beverages are provided. Ballard Cup races especially require a lot of crew; it takes ten people to call out 10 starts and count up to 70 finishers.
RACE / EVENT DATE EVENT COORDINATOR PRO COMMITTEE BOAT COMMITTEE BOAT CREW
Iceberg Race Sat, 1/18/2020 Mike Cain Mike Adams Sasquatch PRO training event
Peter Nelson, Melissa Davies, Sue Weiss, Sarah Quill, Bob Coyne, Duncan Chalmers, Yun Lim, Michael Scribner, Chuck Stevens, Doug Mansell, Mike Danger, Mark Jackson, Grant Fjermedal
Fresh Water Race Sat, 2/22/2020 Mike Cain Mike Adams Sasquatch PRO training event
Blakely Rock Benefit Race
Sat, 4/4/2020 Shannon Renner and Mike Beste

Sarah Quill, Dana Brooks
Ballard Cup 1 - R1 Mon, 4/13/2020 Eric Finn and Marc Klimaschewski
Blue Lullaby
Ballard Cup 1 - R2 Mon, 4/20/2020 Eric Finn and Marc Klimaschewski


Ballard Cup 1 - R3 Mon, 4/27/2020 Eric Finn and Marc Klimaschewski


Ballard Cup 1 - R4 Mon, 5/4/2020 Eric Finn and Marc Klimaschewski Tim Morgenroth Airloom Mike Scribner
Ballard Cup 1 - R5 Mon, 5/11/2020 Eric Finn and Marc Klimaschewski


Ballard Cup 1 - R6 Mon, 5/18/2020 Eric Finn and Marc Klimaschewski


Race to the Straits Sea Sat, 5/2/2020 Shannon Renner Al Hughes
Mary H
Sarah Quill
Race to the Straits PT Sat, 5/2/2020 Shannon Renner
free moorage in PT

Race to the Straits PT Sun, 5/3/2020 Shannon Renner
free moorage in PT

Race to the Straits Sea Sun, 5/3/2020 Shannon Renner Al Hughes
Mary H

Ballard Cup 2 - R1 Mon, 6/1/2020 Megan Kogut


Ballard Cup 2 - R2 Mon, 6/8/2020 Megan Kogut


Ballard Cup 2 - R3 Mon, 6/15/2020 Megan Kogut
Denouement Eric Stover
Ballard Cup 2 - R4 Mon, 6/22/2020 Megan Kogut


Ballard Cup 2 - R5 Mon, 6/29/2020 Megan Kogut


Ballard Cup 2 - R6 Mon, 7/6/2020 Megan Kogut


Three Buoy Fiasco Sat, 6/20/2020 Mike Adams
Rubigale Dana Brooks
Ballard Cup 2020 - R1 Mon, 7/6/2020 Doug Mansell Cindy Gossett Outlaw Cindy Gossett, Derek Storm
Ballard Cup 2020 - R2 Mon, 7/13/2020 Doug Mansell David Sinson Aquavit David Sinson
Ballard Cup 2020 - R3 Mon, 7/20/2020 Doug Mansell


Women at the Helm Regatta Sat, 7/25/2020 Eric Finn Eric Finn Rubigale Dana Brooks
Ballard Cup 2020 - R4 Mon, 7/27/2020 Doug Mansell Lori Pederson Plover Lori Pederson, Bob Curley
Ballard Cup 2020 - R5 Mon, 8/3/2020 Doug Mansell


Ballard Cup 2020 - R6 Mon, 8/10/2020 Doug Mansell


Ballard Cup 2020 - R7 Mon, 8/17/2020 Doug Mansell Jim Leonard Tabu
Ballard Cup 2020 - R8 Mon, 8/24/2020 Doug Mansell


Down the Sound Sea Sat, 8/1/2020 Laney Gale / Megan Kogut


Down the Sound GH Sat, 8/1/2020 Laney Gale / Megan Kogut
free moorage in GH, need to be in GH by 10 am, set pin and anchor in 100 feet
Down the Sound GH Sun, 8/2/2020 Laney Gale / Megan Kogut
set pin and anchor in 100 feet
Down the Sound Sea Sun, 8/2/2020 Laney Gale / Megan Kogut


Single-Handed Race Sat, 8/22/2020 Jarred Swalwell Jarred Swalwell Rubigale Dana Brooks
J & J Race Sat, 9/12/2020 Eric Stover


Fall Regatta Sat, 10/17/2020 Carlton Wilson Mike Adams Too Hip To Quit Dana Brooks
Race Your House Sat, 10/31/2020 Cary Kaczowka Trent Peipho Rock Lobster Kristin Piepho






Cruising Volunteers

Interested in leading a cruising/flotilla event? Sign up to run point on an event, or share your new event ideas with us.
note: For club-sanctioned cruising events, STYC often provides drinks and/or food.

EVENT DATE EVENT COORDINATOR(S) TBD
Blake Island Snooze & Cruise Sat-Sun
Jan 25-26, 2020
Dana Brooks TBD
Bacon & Bourbon Sat-Sun
Feb 22-23, 2020
TBD TBD
Poulsbo Sat-Sun
Mar 21-22, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD
Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD
Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD

Shore-based Volunteers

Party planning, event setup & cleanup, elections, etc.

EVENT DATE EVENT COORDINATOR(S) TBD
Spring Membership Party Sat, March TBD, 2020 TBD TBD
Fall Membership Party Sat, Dec TBD, 2020 TBD TBD
TBD
Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD
Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD
TBD
Sat-Sun
TBD, 2020
TBD TBD

© Sloop Tavern Yacht Club
Sloop Tavern Yacht Club is a 501(c)7 non-profit organization.

2442 NW Market St #94 | Seattle, WA 98107
board@styc.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software