Our club is an all-volunteer organization and we need your help to continue presenting fun and fair racing.

Please contact our race committee chair to let us know how you can help the club. Descriptions and qualifications for each position are listed below.

Race Committee Chair (Mark Jackson 425-275-2111)
2017 STYC Volunteer List 2017 2016 2015 
Race Date Event Coordinator PRO Committee Boat Committee
Iceberg Race   Sat, 1/21/2017   Mark Jackson Dan Randolph JOUJOU, Dehler 35 (Capt. Jim Brauneis) Dan Randolph, Ashley Bell, Bob Leighton, Bob Foulds
Blakely Rock Benefit   Sat, 4/1/2017   Shannon Renner Mark Jackson Santorini, Captain Bob Allison Schelleen Rathkopt, Dana Brooks, Shannon Renner, Sara Smith, Sarah Quill
Ballard Cup 1 - R1   Mon, 4/24/2017   Mark Jackson Dan Randolph Nefarious (Capt. Dan Randolph) Nefarious Crew
Ballard Cup 1 - R2   Mon, 5/1/2017   Mark Jackson Charlie O'Hern Inara (Capt. Michelle Mathison)  
Race to the Straits Sea   Sat, 5/6/2017   Shannon Renner Shannon Renner    
Race to the Straits PT   Sat, 5/6/2017   Shannon Renner      
Race to the Straits PT   Sun, 5/7/2017   Shannon Renner      
Race to the Straits Sea   Sun, 5/7/2017   Shannon Renner Shannon Renner    
Ballard Cup 1 - R3   Mon, 5/8/2017   Mark Jackson   Ranger Danger  
Ballard Cup 1 - R4   Mon, 5/15/2017   Mark Jackson Anna Elz Inara (Capt. Michelle Mathison) Michelle Mathison
Ballard Cup 1 - R5   Mon, 5/22/2017   Mark Jackson Mark Jackson Water Street (Capt. Mark Jackson) Water Street Crew
Ballard Cup 2 - R1   Mon, 6/5/2017   Robert Leighton Ken Chin Kowloon (Capt. Ken Chin) Kowloon Crew
Ballard Cup 2 - R2   Mon, 6/12/2017   Robert Leighton   Copacetic, Hunter 41DS (Capt Mike DeMan)  
Three Buoy Fiasco   Sat, 6/17/2017   Mark Jackson Mark Jackson DuFrie (Capt. Tim Devine) DuFrie Crew
Ballard Cup 2 - R3   Mon, 6/19/2017   Robert Leighton   Teaser (Capt. Kirk Utter) Teaser Crew
Ballard Cup 2 - R4   Mon, 6/26/2017   Robert Leighton Charlie O'Hern Tangent (Capt. Charlie O'Hern) Tangent Crew
Ballard Cup 2 - R5   Mon, 7/17/2017   Robert Leighton Dan Randolph Nefarious (Capt. Dan Randolph) Nefarious Crew
Ballard Cup 3 - R1   Mon, 7/24/2017   Eric Finn Ken Chin Kowloon (Capt. Ken Chin) Kowloon Crew
Ballard Cup 3 - R2   Mon, 7/31/2017   Eric Finn   Copacetic, Hunter 41DS (Capt Mike DeMan)  
Down the Sound Sea   Sat, 8/5/2017   Mikey Beste      
Down the Sound GH   Sat, 8/5/2017   Mikey Beste      
Down the Sound GH   Sun, 8/6/2017   Mikey Beste      
Down the Sound Sea   Sun, 8/6/2017   Mikey Beste      
Ballard Cup 3 - R3   Mon, 8/7/2017   Eric Finn Dan Randolph Nefarious (Capt. Dan Randolph) Nefarious Crew
Ballard Cup 3 - R4   Mon, 8/14/2017   Eric Finn Charlie O'Hern Tangent (Capt. Charlie O'Hern) Tangent Crew
Ballard Cup 3 - R5   Mon, 8/21/2017   Eric Finn Mark Jackson Water Street (Capt. Mark Jackson) Water Street Crew
Single-Handed Race   Sat, 8/26/2017   Michelle Mathison   Inara (Capt. Michelle Mathison)  
Pink Boat Regatta   Sat, 9/9/2017   Ashley Bell     Chuck Stephens
J & J Race   Sun, 9/17/2017   Matthew Walker      
Race-Your-House   Sat, 10/21/2017   Shannon Renner   Cambria, Mapleleaf 42 (Capt. Mark Aberle) Mark Aberle
Fall Regatta   Sun, 10/22/2017   Shannon Renner   Cambria, Mapleleaf 42 (Capt. Mark Aberle) Mark Aberle


Event Coordinator:
This is the person who takes ownership of the event working closely with the STYC race chairman. The position requires basic project management skills to make sure all aspect of the race proceed as planned and is usually part of the race committee, often acting as the principal race officer (PRO).

Principal Race Officer (PRO):
This person is in charge of conducting the race. Duties include directing the committee members, communicating with the fleet, deciding long or short course options, postponements, etc. This position requires prior committee boat experience and familiarity with the STYC race book, the racing rules of sailing, and starting procedures.

Committee Boat:
Please consider volunteering your boat (and yourself as skipper) for the committee boat. For most events any boat over about 25' with an anchor is fine. Volunteering your boat only requires that you take the race committee (2-6 people) aboard and are able to set an anchor in about 60' of water. Most of our races start just outside the breakwater at Shilshole and will have you back at the dock in less than 4 hours.

Race Committee:
No experience is necessary! We will need between 2 and 8 people for each event. Your duties will include holding flags, blowing the horn, etc. as directed by the principal race officer...then enjoy a cold beverage and snacks while watching the race and writing down finish times.